Find What You Love And Do It!

In my last post I wrote about how significant emotional events in our lives can change us. When I saw this interview with Margaret Cho today I was reminded of it again.  As you can see from this video, Ms. Cho chose her direction early in life and has found what she loves and is continuing to do it. I think that for all of us it is important to realize that when we love what we do work takes on a new dimension. For me my work is an intrinsic part of who I am.  I am fortunate to be able to spend my days surrounded by a group of innovative and committed individuals.  When I drive into work each day I look forward to the interactions and challenges that face me because I know that together we can succeed at anything we attempt. That doesn’t mean we always have similar opinions about how to accomplish our goals.  It also doesn’t mean that we don’t argue and fight a bit to get our points across. What is does mean is that we try to respect the opinions of others and give them the floor to express those opinions in an open and supportive environment. Even with all that said, sometimes these interactions can get heated and we need to be reminded that we’re all working on the same team with the same end goal in mind.

So perhaps this post should be an open “love” letter to all of the people I get to work with every day. Let’s see, how should I start? How about this:

Dear Colleague:

Why do I love thee?  Let me count the reasons.

  1. I love your passion and commitment to your product and your team.
  2. I love the way that you jump in unasked and take ownership of researching issues and presenting options.
  3. I love the way you care about your staff and try to build a comfortable environment for them to work in where they can express themselves.
  4. I love that you challenge me to think outside the box.
  5. I love that you don’t complain too loudly when I ask you to “get out your crayons” and draw me a picture so that I can understand a technical issue.
  6. I love the way you send me irreverent emails (when you send them just to me that is, and don’t “reply all”).
  7. I love that you come to me for guidance and advice, but have your own opinions and share them openly.
  8. I love the way you let me gush when I say “thank you” for a job well done.
  9. I love that you respect my opinions but do not hesitate to let me know when you think I am all wet.
  10. I love that you get me involved even when the topic is way too technical for me to absorb .
  11. I love that you are patient when I ask yet another “silly” question.

I could go on and on, but I will stop here and just promise I will continue to let you know how much I love working with you.

With Love,

Q.O.T.W.

My closing words to you are to do as Ms. Cho and I have done. Find what you love and do it! You will live longer and be happier I guarantee it.

Leave a Reply

